Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Dates:
1760-1890; Majority of material found in 1765-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Dates:
1790-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Preston Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents
This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...
Dates:
1755-1836; Majority of material found in 1786-1815
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center